The Ministry

The mission of the Ministry of Culture is to develop cultural policy directed at the protection and enhancement of cultural heritage, and to support the creation of artistic works and the development of artistic practices. In this capacity, it bears in mind the principles of subsidiarity, funding and conventions. It regularly calls for projects in the area of artistic creation, international exchange and networking, and coordinates artist-in-residency programs.

It contributes, together with its public cultural institutions, to safeguard Luxembourg’s collective memory through research and promotion of the different works. It encourages important cultural initiatives, developing links between cultural policies of the public institutions and local entities.

The ministry of Culture is concerned with open cultural dialogue and exchange and it organises on a regular basis discussion platforms with all the actors of the Luxembourg cultural life.

The Ministry of Culture is also concerned with cultural diplomacy and it contributes to the cultural activity outside Luxembourg and supports cultural activities of the Luxembourg embassies abroad. It has so far concluded many cultural agreements with foreign countries. 

Last update

Das Ministerium

Die Förderung der Kultur ist eine wesentliche Grundlage für eine demokratische, moderne, offene, tolerante und solidarische Gesellschaft. Als Verantwortlicher für die Kulturpolitik auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene in Luxemburg möchte das Kulturministerium das kulturelle Erbe Luxemburgs bewahren und die notwendigen Impulse zur Förderung des kulturellen Schaffens und der Kunst geben.

Innerhalb des Ministeriums sind verschiedene Abteilungen mit diesen Missionen befasst, und es funktioniert ein System von Finanzhilfen und Konventionen, um die Erreichung dieser Ziele zu gewährleisten. Darüber hinaus ruft das Ministerium regelmäßig zu Projekten auf und organisiert Künstleraufenthalte.

Neben dem Ministerium erfüllen die verschiedenen Kulturinstitute des Staates spezifischere Aufgaben, wie die Archivierung und Bewahrung des Erbes und des kollektiven Gedächtnisses, die Förderung und Erforschung der luxemburgischen Literatur oder Aufgaben im Bereich der Wissensvermittlung. Darüber hinaus unterhält das Ministerium wichtige Beziehungen zu den öffentlichen Einrichtungen und anderen Kulturinstitutionen, für die es zuständig ist.

Um seiner föderalen Rolle gerecht zu werden koordiniert das Kulturministerium die Beziehungen zwischen den verschiedenen Kulturakteuren Luxemburgs und organisiert einen regelmäßigen Austausch mit ihnen im Rahmen der sogenannten „Assises culturelles“.

Auf internationaler Ebene ist das Ministerium im Rahmen der EU-Institutionen und einiger internationaler Organisationen tätig. Im Interesse des interkulturellen Austausches hat das Ministerium auch im Laufe der Jahre zahlreiche Kulturabkommen mit Ländern der Europäischen Union und darüber hinaus abgeschlossen. 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am