The Ministry of Culture has awarded nine music composition commissions to Luxembourgish or resident composers

As part of its program of public commissions for musical compositions, the Ministry of Culture has awarded nine commissions for musical compositions to Luxembourg composers or resident composers for the 2021-2022 season.

Following the call for applications, launched on March 18th 2021 by the Ministry of Culture, 23 composers submitted an application. Each composer was free to indicate the ensemble(s) for which he/she would like to compose a musical work of a minimum duration of 8 minutes.

The nine ensembles and orchestras involved in the project evaluated the applications and selected the following composers:

  • Marc Desorbay for the Grand Ducal Military Band
  • Marco Pütz for the Luxembourg Wind Orchestra
  • Gilles Noesen for the Luxembourg National Jazz Orchestra
  • Caroline Mirkes for Ars Nova Lux
  • Olivier Dartevelle for the Solistes Européens Luxembourg
  • Gast Waltzing for United Instruments of Lucilin
  • Nik Bohnenberger for Kammerata Luxembourg
  • David Ascani for the Luxembourg Chamber Orchestra
  • Luc Grethen for the OPL

The commissions of the Ministry of Culture are endowed with a total of €60,000 (excl. VAT), distributed among the various partner ensembles and orchestras.

Last update